Press Release
4 October, 2022

Press Release – UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2022

Subject / Forced migration /
Nansen 2022 - GRAPHIC- What is Nansen - English

The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award has brought widespread recognition to an array of laureates working to protect and assist refugees, internally displaced and stateless people. Each year, the award – named after the Norwegian explorer, scientist, diplomat and humanitarian Fridtjof Nansen – is given to an individual, group or organization who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to protect refugees, internally displaced or stateless people.

The winner for this year is Dr. Angela Merkel, the former Federal Chancellor of Germany.

The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award selection committee has also honoured four regional winners for 2022:

  • In Africa, the Mbera Fire Brigade.
  • In the Americas, Vicenta González.
  • In Asia and the Pacific, Meikswe Myanmar.
  • In the Middle East and North Africa, Dr Nagham Hasan.

ICVA was a recipient of the Nansen Refugee Award in 1963.