Humanitarian principles

Toolkit for principled humanitarian action: Managing counterterrorism risks


Toolkit for principled humanitarian action: Managing counterterrorism risks

 
 
 
 
Banner for the webinar Launch event: Toolkit for principled humanitarian action
 

The four principles of humanity, impartiality, neutrality, and independence are the foundations of humanitarian action. Guided by these principles, humanitarian organizations work to ensure that assistance and protection go to those most in need. As well as forming the basis of their work, the principles enable humanitarian organizations to gain and maintain acceptance from communities and parties to conflicts, helping ensure the safety of staff. 

However, as counterterrorism measures become increasingly common at international and national levels, humanitarian organizations remain concerned about the impact of these on their ability to maintain a principled approach. While humanitarian organizations are, usually, not the target of these measures, they nevertheless pose real risks to operations, staff, and beneficiaries.

Join us on 5 June 2020 for the launch of NRC's new Toolkit for Principled Humanitarian Action: Managing Counterterrorism Risks. This event will provide an opportunity for representatives of several key stakeholders to take stock of this issue, five years on from the launch of the original Toolkit.  It will allow for an exchange on the current state of the impact of counterterrorism measures on humanitarian organizations and the associated risks. What measures are humanitarian organisations taking to address these risks? What role can donors play in risk management? What are the emerging challenges and opportunities? 

 

The Toolkit

The Toolkit for Principled Humanitarian Action: Managing Counterterrorism Risks updates the information contained in the 2015 Risk Management Toolkit in Relation to Counterterrorism Measures to reflect recent developments in this area. It aims to raise awareness of counterterrorism-related risks so that organizations can identify and mitigate these, and to make risk management approaches accessible to a broad range of staff who can use these in their day to day work.

Event registrants will receive the link to the Toolkit as soon as it is made available.

 

 
 

Target audience and event access

All humanitarian practitioners with an interest in risk management and/or the relevance of counterterrorism regulations to humanitarian action.

 

Event time

New York: 7:00 - 8:30
London: 12:00 - 13:30
Geneva: 13:00 - 14:30
Amman: 14:00 - 15:30
Nairobi: 14:00 - 15:30
Bangkok: 18:00 - 19:30
Manila: 19:00 - 20:30


To see when the live session will take place in your time zone, click here.

 

Speakers

Jan EgelandJan EgelandSecretary General, Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)
Jacob KurtzerJacob KurtzerInterim Director and Senior Fellow, Humanitarian Agenda
Janez LenarčičJanez LenarčičEuropean Commissioner for Crisis Management
Krystyna MartyKrystyna MartyState Secretary and Head of the Directorate for Political Affairs, Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
 
 
 
Event Date: 
Friday, June 5, 2020 - 13:00 to 14:30
Organiser or Host: 
NRC & PHAP
Venue: 
Webinar online
Link: 
https://phap.org/PHAP/Events/OEV2020/OEV200605.aspx?EventKey=OEV200605
Language: 

Défendre l’espace humanitaire ensemble

ICVA organise un atelier sur les Principes humanitaires intitulé : « Défendre l’espace humanitaire ensemble ». Cette rencontre vise à rassembler les acteurs humanitaires de la région autour des enjeux et expériences en matière d’accès aux populations et préservation de l’espace humanitaire

Event Date: 
Thursday, July 23, 2015 - 00:00
Organiser or Host: 
ICVA West Africa
Venue: 
Dakar, Senegal
Language: 
randomness