IASC Structure

INTER-AGENCY STANDING COMMITTEE (IASC). The IASC was established by the UN General Assembly in 1991 to serve as the primary mechanism for inter-agency coordination relating to humanitarian assistance. The main purpose of the IASC is to improve  the effectiveness of humanitarian action by coordinating IASC's activities, assigning responsibilities, and sharing resources and knowledge. The IASC is composed of nine full members (FAO, OCHA, UNDP, UNFPA, UN-Habitat, UNHCR, UNICEF, WFP and WHO) and nine standing invitees (ICRC, ICVA, IFRC, InterAction, IOM, Office of the RSG on the Human Rights of IDPs, OHCHR, SCHR and World Bank). 


PDF icon IASC structure_20163003.pdf.pdf411.04 KB
Publication date: 
April, 2016
Members Only Document/s: